Whitesboro, Camden lead TVL baseball honors


The Whitesboro and Camden baseball teams each had three selections as part of the Tri-Valley League honors this season.

Whitesboro senior pitcher and first baseman Ryan Cook earned the TVL’s Colonial Division Player of the Year honor. Classmate Colin Skermont was named the Colonial’s Pitcher of the Year. Skermont was also named the Pitcher of the Year in 2021.

Tom Maggiolino was named the Colonial Division’s Coach of the Year after helping Whitesboro to a 13-0 record in the TVL and 16-1 overall. He also earned the honor in 2021.

Whitesboro had nine total players earn honors.

In the Pioneer Division, Camden senior Elijah Ciani earned Pitcher of the Year honors for the second time in as many seasons. Camden sophomore infielder and pitcher Ryan Leos was named Rookie of the Year.

Jake Bates earned coach of the year honors after helping lead Camden to a 10-2 mark in the TVL and a 13-8 overall record this past spring. He also earned the honor in 2021. Camden had eight total players earn honors.

Other awards winners in the Colonial Division are: New Hartford sophomore shortstop Cole Raux (Co-Rookie of the Year) and Thomas R. Proctor High School junior utility player Ty Bonner (Co-Rookie of Year) and New Hartford sophomore Matt Greene (Rookie Pitcher of the Year).

In the Pioneer Division, Vernon-Verona-Sherrill senior pitcher and infielder Bryce Palmer (Player of the Year) and Utica-Notre Dame eighth-grader Daniel Head (Rookie Pitcher of the Year) were honored.

Here’s a look at the Colonial Division all-stars and honorable mentions:

New Hartford

First team: Connor Karwowski (senior, 2B/C), Raux, Nick Perrotta (sophomore, OF), Will Gall (senior, 1B/pitcher).

Second team: Matt Greene (sophomore, pitcher/INF/OF), Zach Philipkoski (junior, P).

Honorable mention: Rowan Gall (sophomore, OF/1B/P).


First team: Todd Abraham (junior, infielder), Angelo Podagrosi (junior, 1B/P), Peyton Kimball (junior, OF/P).

Second team: Bonner, Parker Giruzzi (sophomore, P/INF), Joe Gentile (junior, 2B).

Honorable mention: Jacob Lew (junior, P/OF), Genaro Clemente (sophomore, 3B), Martin Learnard (senior, P).

Rome Free Academy

First team: Marco Macri (senior, 1B/P), Jacob Premo (junior, SS/P/C).

Second team: Marco Sparace (sophomore, C).


First team: Skermont, Cook, Brian Zbytniewski (senior, 3B/P), Max Pawlowski (senior, SS).

Second team: Ty Montrose (junior, OF), Dominic Bullis (senior, INF), DaShawn Hutchinson (senior, OF).

Honorable mention: Anthony Dorozynski (sophomore, 3B), Jacob Scalise (junior, C).

Here’s a look at the Pioneer Division all-stars and honorable mentions:


First team: Derek Holmes (senior, INF/P), Ciani.

Second team: Zane O’Hara (senior, OF/P), Cole Narolis (senior, P/C/3B), Leos.

Honorable mention: Kohl Ingalls (senior, OF/P/DH), Brian Gonzalez (sophomore, C/INF/P), Connor MacArthur (junior, P/1B/OF).

Central Valley Academy

First team: Tanner Warren (senior, INF/P).

Second team: Hudson Albrecht (senior, OF), Cole Wheet (junior, C), Luca Skinner (freshman, 3B).

Utica-Notre Dame

Second team: Luke Williams (junior, C), Head.

Honorable mention: Jaylen Jackson (senior, INF), Patrick Carville (senior, P/INF).


First team: Thomas Lacy (senior, INF/P), Gavin Sweet (sophomore, C/P), Andrew Murray (sophomore, INF/P).


First team: Palmer, Brady Carver (senior, DH), Jackson Horodnick (senior, P/OF).

Second team: Keshler Norman (senior, 1B), Dan Nagel (junior, INF), Rex James (senior, P/OF).


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here