Unbeaten New Hartford volleyball earns MVP, coach of year TVL honors


New Hartford senior setter Emma Friedel is the Tri-Valley League winter girls volleyball player of the year and Spartans’ coach Bill Gardinier was selected as coach of the year.

The Section III Class A champion Spartans won the Colonial Division 8-0 in the division and were 19-0 overall. Whitesboro was second (5-3, 16-4), East Syracuse-Minoa was third (5-3, 6-4), Rome Free Academy was fourth (2-6, 10-8) and Utica Proctor was fifth (0-8, 5-14).

Friedel and teammates Taylor Krol and Rosalind Lampert were named to the Colonial Division first team. RFA’s Alexis Kennedy was also named first team. Whitesboro’s Riley Collis and Kylee DeCarr, Utica Proctor’s Ebby Sha and ES-M’s Laura Sitnik and Natalie Peterson were also first team selections.

The second team was RFA’s Thylia Keonviengsamay, New Hartford’s Makenzie Desmarais and Elise Courto, Whitesboro’s Olivia McArthur and Tessa Nash, Proctor’s Tiana Palmer and ES-M’s Morgan Ranson and Margaret Mading.

Honorable mentions were RFA’s Yanielis Rivera, New Hartford’s Cece Dillion, Whitesboro’s Abbey Lawter, Proctor’s Cici Abraham Davis and ES-M’s Autumn Stoia.

Vernon-Verona-Sherrill won the Pioneer Division with a 6-0 record in the division and 12-8 record overall. Oneida was second (3-3, 5-14), Camen was third (3-3, 3-18) and Central Valley Academy was fourth (0-6, 0-16).

The Pioneer Division first team is VVS’ Sadie Riggs, Marga Villahermosa and Breanne Millson; Oneida’s Katie Kinney and Kaydence Bouchard; Camden’s Adeline Houser; and CVA’s Madeline Feldman.

The second team is VVS’ Paige Enos and Claudio Marsello; Oneida’s Rilee Flynn and Amiee Molinari; and CVA’s Scout Ludwig.

Honorable mentions were VVS’ Kylie Wright, Oneida’s Genevieve Jacobs, Camden’s Devyn Dewan and CVA’s Lauren Jory.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here