Syracuse has pair named to AP Midseason All-America Team


(AP) — The Associated Press midseason All-America team is led by Alabama quarterback Bryce Young and Texas running back Bijan Robinson.

No. 1 Georgia’s ferocious defense is represented by defensive tackle Jordan Davis and linebacker Nakobe Dean on the team released Tuesday and presented by Regions Bank.

Syracuse boasts the nation’s second-leading rusher and the player with the fourth-highest sack total in the country, and both have been named AP Midseason All-Americans for their success.

Sean Tucker (all purpose) and Cody Roscoe (defensive end) earned the honors. The Orange’s two selections trail only Alabama (three) for most players selected to the team. Georgia and Iowa are the other two schools with multiple selections besides the Orange and Crimson Tide.

Tucker was also named ACC Running Back of the Week for the second week in a row. He is the nation’s second-leading rusher with 948 yards on 155 carries (6.1 avg.) and also leads the team with 224 yards through the air. On Friday night against Clemson, he became the first player to rush for more than 100 yards against the Tigers, going for 157 yards.

Roscoe currently leads the ACC and all power five players with 7.5 sacks. His 10.5 tackles for loss is also tops in the ACC and fifth nationally. Roscoe has at least a half sack in five of the Orange’s seven games this season. His 33 tackles rank third on the Orange this year and tops among defensive linemen. He also has two quarterback hurries and a forced fumble.

The midseason team contains a handful of new names and adjustments from the preseason team released in late August. It was picked by a group of AP Top 25 poll voters.


Quarterback — Bryce Young, sophomore, Alabama.

Running backs — Kenneth Walker III, junior, Michigan State; Bijan Robinson, sophomore, Texas.

Tackles — Evan Neal, junior, Alabama; Ikem Ekwonu, junior, North Carolina State.

Guards — Eli Cox, sophomore, Kentucky; Zion Johnson, senior, Boston College.

Center — Tyler Linderbaum, junior, Iowa.

Tight end — Isaiah Likely, senior, Coastal Carolina.

Wide receivers — Drake London, junior, Southern California; Jerreth Sterns, junior, Western Kentucky.

All-purpose player — Sean Tucker, freshman, Syracuse.

Kicker — Nick Sciba, senior, Wake Forest.


Ends — Aidan Hutchinson, senior, Michigan; Cody Roscoe, senior, Syracuse.

Tackles — Jordan Davis, senior, Georgia; Demarvin Leal, junior, Texas A&M.

Linebackers — Will Anderson Jr., sophomore, Alabama; Devin Lloyd, junior, Utah; Nakobe Dean, junior, Georgia.

Cornerbacks — Ahmad Gardner, junior, Cincinnati; Matt Hankins, senior, Iowa.

Safeties — Kyle Hamilton, junior, Notre Dame; Jaquan Brisker, senior, Penn State.

Punter — Matt Araiza, junior, San Diego State.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here