Return home

Speeders focus of upcoming law enforcement effort

Posted 8/13/22

The annual statewide Speed Awareness Week crackdown will begin on Sunday, with increased law enforcement patrols and enforcement across the state.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Speeders focus of upcoming law enforcement effort

Posted

The annual statewide Speed Awareness Week crackdown will begin on Sunday, with increased law enforcement patrols and enforcement across the state.

Speed Week will last from Sunday, Aug. 14 through Sunday, Aug. 21.

Each year, hundreds of motorists in New York State lose their life or suffer serious injuries from speed related crashes, officials said. Speeding is the main contributing factor for fatal motor vehicle crashes.

In 2021, 35% of all traffic fatalities in New York were caused by speeding, officials said. Speeding endangers not only the life of the speeder, but other people on the roadway. The intent of Speed Awareness Week is to reduce the number of speed related crashes, which will result in fewer deaths and injuries.  

Speeding by all vehicle types, as well as other traffic violations, will be heavily enforced throughout the week in addition to normal year-round enforcement, officials said. Officers will also be watching for other traffic violations, including distracted or impaired drivers, vehicle occupants who are not properly buckled up and drivers that are violating New York’s Move Over law.

While the penalties for speeding vary, fines and surcharges as well as increased points on drivers’ licenses can make a conviction for speeding a hefty proposition.

According to the New York Safety Council, “for a first conviction the cost of a speeding ticket can range between $90 and $600. For example, if you’re speeding less than 10 miles over the limit, your ticket will usually be between $90 and $150. If you are speeding between 11 and 30 miles over the limit, your ticket will be in the $90 to $300 range.”

In addition to these fines, New York levies a moving violation surcharge, which begins at $93 for a first-time offense in a town or village court and $88 for a first-time offender in city court.

There is also a “driver assessment fee” for drivers who have at least six points accumulated on their licenses within 18 months or drivers convicted of certain traffic violations within the past three years.

Although its rarely invoked as a punishment, a judge in New York can also impose a jail sentence of up to 30 days for speeding ticket violations.

Comments

No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here