Seven at SUNY Poly receive Chancellor’s Awards


Seven SUNY Polytechnic Institute student, faculty, and staff members are among hundreds being honored from SUNY campuses across the state as recipients of the 2020 Chancellor’s Award for Excellence, SUNY Poly announced.

SUNY Poly interim President Dr. Grace Wang joined SUNY Chancellor Kristina Johnson in congratulating recipients. Johnson said “they are inspiring, and I have high expectations for how they will contribute to our society as we rebound from this current pandemic that separates us today.”

At SUNY Poly:

• Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence — Emma Vanderwerken ’20 & Gretchen Long ‘20. This recognizes students who have best demonstrated and been recognized for academic excellence and accomplishments in areas ranging from leadership and athletics to community service, creative and performing arts, campus involvement, or career achievement.

• Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service — Sandra Mizerak, NCC, LMHC. The award recognizes those demonstrating consistently superior professional achievement within and beyond the position who have repeatedly sought improvement of themselves, their campuses, and ultimately the state university.

• Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service: Dr. Linda Weber — It recognizes consistently superior service contributions of teaching faculty, including in such areas as service to the campus, the state university, the local community, or contributions at the regional, state-wide, national, or international levels.

• Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching: Dr. Kathleen Dunn — This recognizes consistently superior teaching at graduate, undergraduate, or professional levels, in keeping with SUNY’s commitment to providing students with instruction of the highest quality.

• Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities: Dr. Yubing Xie. The award supports the pursuits foundational to intellectual growth of SUNY institutions by recognizing consistently outstanding scholarly and creative productivity, conducted in addition to teaching, by SUNY’s instructional faculty.

• Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service: Brian Harris. This gives system-wide recognition for superior performance and extraordinary achievement by employees in the Classified Service. These awards demonstrate the university’s commitment to individuals providing superior service to students and the community at large.

For award selections, a selection committee established by each SUNY campus president reviews accomplishments of top-performing candidates. Nominees are forwarded to the chancellor’s office for a second round of review and finalists are recommended to the chancellor to become recipients.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment