RFA musicians open Capitol’s Rome Arts Hall of Fame ceremony Sunday


The Rome Free Academy Singers under the direction of Michelle Madonia-Rushford and the RFA String Quartet under the direction of Erica Oshier will open the program for the 2019 Rome Arts Hall of Fame induction ceremony Sunday at the Capitol Theatre.

RFA String Quartet members are Lily Bone, Hannah Carlson, Katherine Dursi and Adelina Rivera. The RFA Academy Singers feature Matthew Breault, Kayla Bush, Jacob Carissimo, Jonathan Carissimo, Giana Cheri, Chandni Desai, Alaina DiMaggio, Gianna DiMaggio, Kristen Earl, Tah’Ken Fediw, Kaitlin Flint, Jerome Gordon, Taylor Griffin, Lauryn Haag, Brandon Hensley, Miguel Hernandez, Abigail Morgan, Molly Riggleman, David Salce, Hannah Solomon, Nicholas Stockton, Giovanna Sudol, Ethan Vernold, Arianna Williams and Tori Wright.

The event begins at 4 p.m. and is open to the public. Tickets are on sale at the Capitol box office and will be available at the door. Ticket prices are $15 for adults, $13 for Capitol Friends, $10 for students. A family ticket is priced at $40. This year’s Rome Arts Hall of Fame inductees are:

• Carmen Amato, author;

• Megan Anderegg, visual arts educator;

• John Clifford, photographer;

• Alice Dennis, puppeteer
and storyteller;

• Bernie Hurlbut, barbershop singer, cartoonist and artist;

• Kimberly Nethaway,
musician, choral director, educator; and

• Gail Tucker, costumer.

Plaques featuring a photo and biography of each of the prior eighty-two Rome Arts Hall of Fame inductees will be featured in the theater’s outer lobby. Story boards representative of each of the 2019 inductees’ art will be on display in the theater’s inner lobby. The induction ceremony will take place on stage. Refreshments will be served following the induction ceremony.

The Rome Arts Hall of Fame honors individuals (living or deceased) with a strong connection to the Rome community who have made outstanding contributions to the literary, performing or visual arts. The Rome Arts Hall of Fame provides the community an opportunity to remember past contributors to the arts; to celebrate current outstanding artists and to inspire young people in future artistic endeavors.

Previously inducted Rome Arts Hall of Fame members are:

Class of 2005: Amy Bartell, Michael Burkard, Tom Foster, James McDermid, John Hayes O’Neill, Jack Palmer, Maria Russo, Harold Bell Wright.

Class of 2007: Francis Bellamy, Grace Carpenter, John Flaver, Janet Foote, Rod Foote, Flo Hoppe.

Class of 2008: Carleton Brush, Emilie Hayes, Canan Jackson, Steve Jackson, John Jervis.

Class of 2009: Walter Brooks, Eleanora Collins, McKinley Collins, Randy Fields, Peter Loftus, Shirley Waters.

Class of 2010: Robert Hubbell, Ann Hurlbut, Greg Kozma, John Salerno, Jean Vollmer, Richard Vollmer.

Class of 2011: Wealthy Honsinger Fisher, Herb Geller, JoAnn Geller, Frank Page, Jane Taylor, Joe Yozzo.

Class of 2012: Susan Davidson, Richard DeLutis, Helen Phillips-Hannah, Doug Magee, Rick Montalbano, Fred Normand, Coley Worth.

Class of 2013: Classified, Anthony Lanzi, Else Minarik, Catherine Powers O’Neill, Leonard Urso, Valerie Wood, Billie Worth.            

Class of 2014: Pat Besl, Tom Besl, Anthony Elliott, Roberta Guaspari, Matt Pitcher, Claudette Wire.

Class of 2015: Linda Jackson, Margaret McLean, Jake Meiss, Mohawk Valley Frasers Pipe Band, Joan Tell, Edyth Walker.

Class of 2016: Arnold Galin, Jerome Durr, Margaret Jevens, Kristin Kimball, Robert Stirling, G. Robert Reynolds.

Class of 2017: Barb Seaton, Kathleen (Chip) Haley, John Huckaby, Twyla Edwards, Sara Landau, Bill Bartell.

Class of 2018: Daniel Bertrand, Anthony (Tony) DiPaolo, Denise Borek Morganti, Jack Palmer, Jr, Scott Rutledge, Philippa Schrader Carol stack.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment