Nominations being accepted for Rome Sports Hall of Fame


The Rome Sports Hall of Fame is accepting nominations for individuals to be considered for induction.

Applications and instructions are available on the Parks and Recreation website at Nomination forms may also be picked up at the Recreation Department at City Hall.

According to the Hall’s guidelines, individuals to be nominated must either be from Rome or have a long-term association with the area to be considered “hometown” and commonly associated with Rome by the general public.

He or she must also meet one of the following criteria:

• Is or was an outstanding athlete In high school, college, amateur or professional sports;

• Is or was a coach or manager who has made a significant contribution to sports;

• Is or was a “contributor” whose efforts and talents provided leadership, administration, organization, direction, inspiration, positive contributions and motivation in the furtherance of sports programs, teams and athletes. 

Nominations are also being accepted for the Hall of Fame’s William J. Coughlin Memorial.

The memorial, which honors deceased individuals who excelled in local sports, is named in honor of the longtime Rome Free Academy coach and athletic director who died after being struck by a car while training for a marathon.

The Coughlin Memorial was established to recognize Rome athletes whose “light shined far too briefly.”

Nominations will also be taken for the Ellie Bruce Exceptional Team of Excellence Award which salutes a standout team from the past. The award is sponsored by Bruce, a member of the Hall of Fame selection committee.

The committee is also looking for nominations for the Frank Clark Service Award which recognizes an individual for outstanding service to Rome Sports organizations.

The award is given in memory of the late Frank Clark. Mr. Clark was a long time board member of the Rome Sports Hall of Fame who was well known for his dedicated service to several Rome organizations.

It is not necessary to re-submit nominations for the Hall of Fame, the Coughlin Memorial, the team award, or service award as previously submitted nominations are kept on file. 

However, additions or addendums to nominations are welcome.

Selection committee members are co-chairmen Bill Fleet and Joe Silkowski along with Tara Anne Baker, Chris Bouton, Ellie Bruce, Carl Eilenberg, Stan Evans, Linda Harjung and Fran Lisewski.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment