New Hartford’s Philipkoski nabs top Tri-Valley League honor


Junior Zach Philipkoski was instrumental in helping the New Hartford boys basketball team turn in arguably the most impressive season in school history.

The state-ranked Spartans – who finished 24-3 overall – earned a Tri-Valley League title, a Section III title, a regional title and made it all the way to the New York State Public High School Sports Association Class A final last weekend in Glens Falls.

Philipkoski, who played through toe and shoulder injuries, was at the forefront of New Hartford’s success. It is no surprise, then, that the guard/forward is the TVL’s all-league Player of the Year. He’s among three New Hartford players to earn TVL honors.

Philipkoski led the Spartans with a 26.1 points per game – he had 10 games of 30 points or more – and also added 234 rebounds, 101 assists, 109 steals and 29 blocks.

“It is awesome to be part of this team that was able to (get to the state final),” said Philipkoski, who was picked to the Class A all-tournament team.

Joining Philipkoski earning honors from the TVL are junior Colton Suriano (8.8 points per game, team-best 239 rebounds and 53 blocks) on the first team. Senior Will Trela (9.3 ppg) is on the TVL second team.

Also on the TVL’s first team are: Central Valley Academy junior Jaylon O’Neal – the Pioneer Division’s Player of the Year – and sophomore Deacon Judd.

Rome Free Academy senior standout Kaiden McCaskill was also on the first team along with Whitesboro senior Caden Morris.

Second team selections include: Rome Free Academy freshman Uzziah Grimes, Thomas R. Proctor High School senior Trae Quan Le, Vernon-Verona-Sherrill senior Ben Wittman and Camden senior Connor Dean.

While there were all-stars chosen for the TVL’s Pioneer Division, it is unclear if there were Colonial Division selections made.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here