Masonic Medical Research Institute honored


Masonic Medical Research Institute (MMRI) was nominated and awarded with the “distinguished achievements in research and academics” award by MedTech Association.

For 15 years MedTech Association has been recognizing and awarding advancements made in the bio/med industry.

Each year the association holds its annual Conference and Achievement Awards, which acknowledge the wide range of talented individuals and organizations in upstate New York. Their mission focuses on building relationships, tools and programs in support of upstate New York companies and their efforts to deliver medical solutions. The nominees not only showcase the innovators, universities, institutes, and visionaries of the region, but also represent the diversity, spirit and talent of upstate New York. MedTech grants this “research and academics” award to an institution whose contributions have measurably advanced upstate New York’s Bio/Med Industry.

“For the past two years we have been in the process of expanding our research interests and engaging with new, more broad-based and disease-focused studies. We are proud of how far MMRI has come and look forward to what the future holds. This nomination stands as an accreditation of the Institute’s growing success,” said Dr. Maria Kontaridis, Gordon K. Moe professor and chair of Biomedical Research and Translational Medicine and director of Research. 

On Oct. 22, MedTech held its annual Achievement Awards at the Hyatt Regency in Rochester. MMRI was nominated alongside Cornell University - Kevin M. McGovern Family Center for Venture Development, Rochester Institute of Technology and Upstate Medical University for the Distinguished Achievement in Research and Academics award.

“It was an honor to be recognized among these great institutions and be surrounded by support from the Bio/Med industry. I am proud to represent MMRI and support the exceptional research and faculty,” said Robert Hewson, vice-president, MMRI Board of Directors.

The award was accepted in person in Rochester by Drs. Maria Kontaridis, Jason McCarthy, Zhiqiang Lin, Khanh Ha and Robert Hewson.

“This is a great honor for the Institute, and we thank MedTech Association for the nomination and for choosing MMRI as the awarded winner,” Dr. Jason McCarthy, associate professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Scientific Operations Manager at MMRI, said. 


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment