Griffiss Institute among team challenge winners in Heart Run and Walk


Griffiss Institute was among the top Team Challenge winners for the 2018 America’s Greatest Heart Run and Walk held in March.

The American Heart Association announced the winners at the High 5 Club Party on Tuesday evening. The event was held at Hart’s Hill Inn in Whitesboro. The High 5 Club Party and Memorial Awards Ceremony are held to honor those participants who raise $500 or more for America’s Greatest Heart Run & Walk. This year’s total of 223 High 5 Club members raised nearly $300,000. The event raised a total of more than $931,000 altogether.

The top fund-raiser received a special honor. Albert Pylinski, Jr., raised more than $85,000.

Before the official party got underway, a special reception was held for Grand VIP members who raised at least $1,000. The reception was sponsored by Scalzo, Zogby, and Wittig, Inc. Insurance.

2018 Team Challenge Winners

Team Competition Category

Highest Total Pledge

Fire Department/Arthur Bizzari Memorial Award — Mohawk Volunteer Fire Department;

Government — Griffiss Institute;

Institutions of Finance — Flemma-Gornick Financial Group;

Insurance — NYCM Insurance;

Fitness — The Fitness Mill;

Manufacturing — Bonide;

Organizations & Clubs/James Blackshear Memorial Award — Boonville Elks Club;

Friends & Family — Team Stasaitis;

Colleges & Higher Education — Utica College;

Schools (K-12)/Michael J. Arcuri Memorial Award — Poland Has Heart;

Veterans Organizations/Bill Oliver Memorial Award — Team Guca/Malsan-Jones VFW 7393;

Unions/Richard E. Roy Memorial Award — Public Employees Federation Region 6;

Non-Profit Agency — Kids Oneida;

Large Corporate — Hannaford’s Supermarkets;

Small Corporate — McQuade & Bannigan, Inc.;

Community Teams/Oneida County — Team Victoria;

Community Teams/Madison County — Team Leonardsville;

Community Teams/Lewis County — Team Brickfront;

Community Teams/Herkimer County— Team Chris’s Hearts;

Community Teams/North Country— Team Zimmer.

Other award winners:

The Donald and Maureen Montano Memorial Award – Theresa Flemma

The Edmund Bruni, Sr. Memorial Award – NYCM Insurance

The Fay Schreck Memorial Award – Marolyn Wilson

The George Lein Memorial Award – Albert Pylinski, Jr.

The Lew Roberts Memorial Award – Diana Sparrow


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment