County STOP-DWI program presents awards to officers


The county STOP-DWI Program announced their annual law enforcement awards on May 10 in Utica.

The awards are presented to individual police officers and agencies for their continued efforts to curb drunken driving. The awards were handed out at a recognition breakfast at Mohawk Valley Community College.

“This event is a small way for us to show our thanks, not only for what our local law enforcement members do for our STOP-DWI efforts, but for all they do for our community,” said STOP-DWI Coordinator Thomas Giruzzi.

The main award is the Joseph D. Corr Memorial Award for officers with outstanding DWI enforcement efforts.

Winners: Rome Police Officer Hollie Kennedy, Kirkland Police Officer Christopher Gregory, New Hartford Police Officer Annemarie Brelinsky, New York Mills Officer Guy Danella, New York State Trooper Brendon Lalor, Oneida County Sheriff’s Deputy Aaron Silverman, Whitestown Police Officer David Humphries, Whitesboro Police Officer Mitchell Grogan, Utica Police Officer Aaron Donaldson and Yorkville Police Officer Austin Szkotak.

State Police Inv. Brett Yorgey received the William M. Weber Memorial Award for Excellence in Crash Reconstruction.

The Oneida County Probation Department received the Perpetual Agency Award.

The Michael C. Austin Community Service Award was presented posthumously to retired New York Mills Police Chief and former Whitestown Police Officer Bradley Frankland for his continued efforts organizing and overseeing the New York Mills High School after-prom party, which he had been doing for 19 years before his passing.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment