Boxing Hall names TV and movie actor grand marshal


CANASTOTA — The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced on Monday that Jon Seda, star of the hit NBC drama Chicago P.D., has been named grand marshal of the 2015 Boxing Hall of Fame Parade of Champions scheduled for Sunday, June 14 at 1 p.m.

Seda spent time in the ring as an amateur boxer growing up. A New Jersey native, Seda was runner up in the 1989 NJ Golden Gloves with an all-time record of 21-1. Seda hung up the gloves as a boxer to take on acting, his first role a fighter in the 1992 film Gladiator.

He has since earned critical acclaim for his roles in films Carlito’s Way, Twelve Monkeys, The Sunchaser, and Selena; television programs Chicago Fire, Ghost Whisperer, Oz, Treme, Hawaii Five-O, The Closer, Burn Notice, Law & Order and 2010’s Emmy Award-winning HBO World War II miniseries The Pacific. Seda currently stars as Detective Antonio Dawson on the hit NBC drama Chicago P.D.

“The Hall of Fame is thrilled that such an accomplished actor as Jon Seda will serve as the 2015 Grand Marshal,” said Hall of Fame executive director Edward Brophy in a written release.

For more information on the 2015 Hall of Fame Induction weekend, call 697-7095 or visit the Hall’s website at:

The June 11-14 Hall of Fame Induction Weekend will feature many events such as a banquet, boxing autograph card show, cocktail party and the official induction deremony honoring the Class of 2015.

The Parade of Champions will pass through the streets of Canastota and lead to the Hall of Fame Museum prior to the start of the Official Induction Ceremony honoring the new class of inductees.

This year’s inductees include heavyweight champion Riddick “Big Daddy” Bowe, featherweight champion “Prince” Naseem Hamed, lightweight champion Ray “Boom Boom” Mancini, light flyweight champion Yoko Gushiken, manager Rafael Mendoza, referee Steve Smoger, journalist Nigel Collins and broadcaster Jim Lampley. Posthumous inductees in the Old-Timer and Non-Participant categories will also be honored.

Over 40 boxing stars from the United States and abroad, including “The Raging Bull” Jake LaMotta, Nino Benvenuti, Michael Spinks, “Irish” Micky Ward, William Joppy, Ray Mercer, George Chuvalo, Peter Manfredo Jr., Pipino Cuevas, Ruben Olivares, Buddy McGirt, Aaron “The Hawk” Pryor, Carlos Palomino, Winky Wright and Sergio Martinez, will be highlighted in the Parade of Champions.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment