Arts Hall of Fame induction Sunday at Capitol Theatre


ROME — The 15th class of the Rome Arts Hall of Fame will be inducted Sunday, May 1, at the Capitol Theatre, 230 W. Dominick St., beginning at 4 p.m.

Capitol Arts Complex Executive Director Art Pierce said the ceremony will be open to the public and tickets will be available at the door and in advance from the Capitol’s website. Adult tickets are $15, $13 for Capitol Friends, $10 for students, and a special family ticket is available for $40.

Members of the Class of 2022 are:

• Theatrical scenic artist Lynne Angell;

• Musician, educator John A. Flaver;

• Playwright, performer, director Ted Lenio;

• Library director Lisa Matte;

• Photographer, visual arts educator Larry Migliori; and

• Musician, performing arts educator Vicky Stockton.

Students of the John Hayes O’Neill Studio of Dance will open the ceremony with a performance under the direction of Stephen and Canan Jackson who were inducted into the Rome Arts Hall of Fame in 2008.

Preceding and following the induction ceremony attendees will have an opportunity to greet the 2022 inductees and view memory board type panels dedicated to their involvement in the literary, visual or performing arts.

The 89 plaques featuring the image and biographical information of each prior inductee will be on display in the Capitol’s outer lobby.

Refreshments will be served in the concessions lobby following the ceremony.

The Capitol Theatre created The Rome Arts Hall of Fame in 2005 to honor individuals — living or deceased — who have a strong connection to the Rome community and have a significant involvement in the performing, visual or literary arts.  

A complete listing of the 89 members of the Rome Arts Hall of Fame can be viewed on the Capitol’s website at

The Capitol’s website contains a nomination form which can be used to nominate potential inductees.

Nominations from the public are currently being accepted for the Class of 2023

Members of this year’s Rome Arts Hall of Fame committee are Pat Besl, Barb Seaton, Maya Nelson, Rob Tracy, Art Pierce, Susan Davidson, Amy Bartell, Bobbi Striker and Jo Ann Geller. Gail Tucker and Maria Rich co-chair the committee.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here