15 inducted into Oriskany National Honor Society


Oriskany Central High School held its National Honor Society Induction Ceremony on Wednesday with 15 students joining the school’s chapter.

The inductees include: Steven Jeffrey Armstrong Jr.; Joseph Behr; Samantha Jean DeFabio; Gianni Antonio Falatico; Valentin Gergi; Lacey Gruet; Kegan Riley Kraeger; Emma Marie LaSalle; Joshua Anthony Macera; Jaden Matthew Oshel; Andrew Jacob Pysnik; Trevor Joseph Tamburino; Christian Nicholas Uvino; Cara Marie Waterman; and James Bradley Whittaker

The ceremony began with welcoming remarks by Lauren Valente, the school’s NHS chapter adviser, followed by the processional of current members and inductees.

NHS President John Maher introduced guest speaker Marolyn Persma Wilson, OCS Class of 1960. Kara Daskiewich, NHS vice president, followed Wilson’s speech, thanking the OCS graduate for her participation in the ceremony.

A candle lighting ceremony followed with Daskiewich lighting the candle to represent scholarship; Sofia Tagliaferri lighting the candle to represent service; Fish lighting the candle to represent leadership and Maher lighting the candle to represent character.

Certificates were presented by Principal Jamie Grimshaw while membership cards and pins were presented by Superintendent Timothy Gaffney. Valente facilitated the students’ signing of the NHS register.

The inductees joined the following students as current members of the Oriskany NHS chapter: Savannah Austin; Julia Bates; Elizabeth Battle; Ethan Burrows; Kara Daskiewich; Ryan Fish; Aeron Hamm; Angelina Hays; John Maher; Erin Mason; Ainsley Sawyer; and Sofia Tagliaferri.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment