Voters to decide countywide, town races


This year’s local elections are the first for early voting, which began on Saturday, Oct. 26 at three locations in Oneida County.

Voters in the area will have their say on several county races, including county executive, as well as for town government positions in both Kirkland and Westmoreland.

The state Legislature passed the law allowing for early voting early this year. All but nine states that allow in-person voting ahead of Election Day, though Delaware and Virginia have passed such laws but will not implement early voting this year, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

The sites in Oneida County and times of voting are:

• Rome YMCA, 301 W. Bloomfield St.

• New Hartford Town Hall in the former Gander Mountain building at The Orchards,
8635 Clinton St., New Hartford; and at

• Boehlert Center at Union Station, third floor, 321 Main St., Utica

Dates and times are:

Thursday, Oct. 31, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. in Rome and Utica and 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. New Hartford

Friday, Nov. 1, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. all locations

Saturday Nov. 2, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. all locations

Sunday Nov. 3, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. all locations

All locations are accessible to voters with disabilities, according to the Oneida County Board of Elections.

Voters may use any early-voting location regardless of where they live. Voting continues on Election Day, Tuesday Nov. 5, when voters should use their assigned polling place.

Anyone who voted early may not vote on Election Day. Polls are open on Election Day from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Voters who are out of town may also vote by absentee ballots, which are available at the Board of Elections’ office on the third floor of the Boehlert Center at Union Station in Utica, or obtainable at or by calling the board at 315-798-5765.

Offices to be filled include state Supreme Court justice; Surrogate Court judge; county executive, district attorney and comptroller, and legislators; and local offices including mayor and city council in Rome and Utica and town offices and boards.

Among the county races are those for:

State Supreme Court Justice, 5th Judicial District (vote for three) — Bernadette Romano Clark (Democractic; Republican, Conservative; and Independence parties); Rory A. McMahon (Dem.); Joseph E. Lamendola (Rep., Cons., and Ind.); Julie Cerlo (Dem.) and Robert E. Antonacci, II, (Rep. Cons., and Ind.);

Oneida County Surrogate Court Judge (vote for one) — Louis P. Gigliotti (Dem, Cons., and Ind.); unopposed;

Oneida County Executive (vote for one) — Michael J. Hennessy, (Dem., Libertarian, and SAM); Anthony J. Picente Jr. (Rep., Cons., and Ind.);

Oneida County District Attorney (vote for one) — Scott D. McNamara (Dem., Cons., and Ind.); unopposed; and

Oneida County Comptroller (vote for one) — Joseph J. Timpano (Rep. Cons. and Ind.); unopposed.

Candidates in town races for Kirkland and Westmoreland include:


Town Supervisor (vote for one) — Robert J. Meelan (Dem, Ind.); unopposed;

Town Justice (vote for one) — Paul B. Heintz (Dem.); unopposed;

Councilperson (vote for two) — Richard Maxam, (Dem); Fred Lomanto (Rep.); Mike O’Neil (Dem.) ;

Kirkland Districts 1 and 10 — Also vote for Oneida County Legislator, 10th District — George Joseph (Rep., Ind.); unopposed;

Kirkland Districts 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 9 — Also vote for Oneida County Legislator, 14th District — D. Chad Davis (Dem., Cons., Ind.); unopposed;

Kirkland Districts 3 and 8 — Also vote for Oneida County Legislator, 2nd District (vote for one) — Glen A.Carroll (Dem., Working Families); Colin E. Idzi (Rep., Cons., and Ind.).


Town Justice (vote for one) — Keith D. Bowers (Rep.); unopposed;

Town Councilperson (vote for two) — Charles Hebbard (Rep.); Burton D. Seymour Jr., (Rep.);

Tax Collector (vote for one) — Margaret M. Leona (Dem.); unopposed;

All districts — Also vote for Oneida County Legislator, 10th District — George Joseph (Rep., Ind.); unopposed.

For questions about early voting, local races or polling locations and hours, go online to or call the Oneida County Board of Elections at 315-798-5765.

The Board of Elections is open weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and is located on the third floor of Union Station in Utica.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment