Students win leadership awards


UTICA — At a special ceremony Wednesday, May 22 New York State Sen. Joseph Griffo, R-47th Dist. of Rome, recognized several area high school students from his district who were nominated for New York State Senate Youth Leadership Recognition Awards.

The awards honor students who excel not only academically, but also through leadership in extracurricular and volunteer activities. Students were nominated by their school districts.

Honorees included:

Hannah Miller: Adirondack High School

Maria Keeney: Rome Free Academy

Alexis Payne: South Lewis High School

Alayna Munn: South Lewis High School

Fatime Abakar Khatir Adam: Thomas R. Proctor High School

Hannah McCarthy: Whitesboro High School

Daniel Yingling: Whitesboro High School

Alyssa Sherline: Whitesboro High School

Thomas Morreale: Whitesboro High School

Each student received a special certificate from Griffo, the Senate’s deputy minority leader.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment