Former players return to Alumni Basketball Night


WESTMORELAND — Former players for Westmoreland Central School returned for Alumni Basketball Night and the 1965-66 IVL League championship team was honored on Dec. 29.

Participants played in three games at the junior/senior high school gymnasium. An “Old Timers” game, featuring players who graduated before 2000, tipped-off at 5 p.m. It was followed by a “Lady Bulldogs” game, featuring female alumni, and a “21st Century” game, featuring male alumni who graduated after 2000.  

The following alumni played:

Lady Bulldogs Alumni Game

White Team – Sarah Flint Rados, Becky Reece Roberts, Jill Mihm Downs, Martina Shackleford, Kara Smith Young, Alicia Smolinsky Smith, Corinne Kopytowski Rothdiener, Olivia Merrell, Jessica Donley Zech, Val Gritsch Connor and Mary Barber

Green Team – Brooke Novak Haynes, Amy Howlett Everetts, Linda Bloss Fisher, Kristin Williams, Megan Nolan, Grace DePierto, Andrea Novak Jette, Cherie Bloss Poland, Morgan Barber and Kia Barber

Old Timers Alumni Game

White Team – Greg Williams, Jace Volo, Ed Bonham, Jim McCarthy, Barry VanDreason, Ed Ryan and Angelo Gaetano

Green Team – Jamie Green, Kenny Spaven, Mike Hebbard, Brett Stuttard, Jeff Coy, Paul Kulpa, Jeromie Hebbard and Mark Putnam

21st Century Alumni Game

White Team – Jimmy Barron, Jake Shackleford, Dan Smith, Tyler Deveans, Jake Lyman, Mike Rahn, Joe Becker, Geo Castro, Dylan Hannaford, Patrick Nolan and Kris Harrison

Green Team – Teddy Flint, Tony Fiorilli, Colin DeBiase, Eric Rodriguez, TJ Losowski, Chris Chapin, Ben Taylor, Nick Matwijec, Nik Hameister, Zach Stephens and Colin Clanton

At the conclusion of the “Old Timers” game, members of the 1965-66 Westmoreland Boys Varsity Basketball team were honored. The team, coached by 2017 Alumni Basketball Night honoree Don “Coach Mac” McLellan, finished the season with a 16-4 record and as champion of the Inter-Valley League. The team’s biggest wins included a 60-49 victory over then undefeated Oriskany and 50-42 defeat of West Canada Valley.

1965-66 Boys Varsity Basketball Team – IVL Champions

Don “Coach Mac” McLellan (Coach)

Joe Ryan (Captain)

Glen Masner (Captain)

Jim Siegfried

Paul Parent

Truett Sweeting

Larry Beavers

Wayne Palm

Ross Parent

Wayne Clark

Don Cotter

D. Robinson (Manager)

All proceeds from “Alumni Basketball Night” benefited the Westmoreland Sports Boosters.

The following individuals and sponsors for 2018 Alumni Basketball Night:

Tony Albrecht – Organizer

Greg Williams – Organizer

Vic Iverson – Referee

Mark Montgomery – Announcer

Westmoreland Sports Boosters


Fazio’s Auto Sales

Circle K

Cliff’s Local Market

Stewart’s Shops

Boulevard Graphics

Grande’s Pizzeria

Patrick Cardillo

The 2019 “Alumni Basketball Night” will take place on Saturday, Dec. 28.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment