Clemson dominate AP All-ACC football picks


RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) — Top-ranked Clemson once again dominated the Associated Press All-Atlantic Coast Conference teams released Tuesday.

The league-champion Tigers placed six players on the first team, led by offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt — one of eight unanimous selections from the panel of 14 sports writers who cover the conference.

Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson was the unanimous pick as the offensive player of the year while Boston College running back A.J. Dillon was unanimously selected as the newcomer of the year.

Miami coach Mark Richt was chosen as the coach of the year after leading the Hurricanes to the Coastal Division title and their first appearance in the ACC championship game. North Carolina State defensive end Bradley Chubb is the defensive player of the year.

Clemson earned its third straight berth in the College Football Playoff a day after beating Miami 38-3 in the ACC title game.

Jackson, Dillon and Chubb also were unanimous selections to the first team along with N.C. State running back Nyheim Hines, Syracuse senior receiver Steve Ishmael and two players from Virginia — linebacker Micah Kiser and safety Quin Blanding.

Syracuse senior linebacker Parris Bennett was a second-team pick.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment