INDUCTEE — In this Jan. 28, 2001 file photo, Vitali Klitschko of Ukraine holds up the world championship belt after he knocked out Orlin Norris of the United States in the first round of a WBO heavyweight title fight in Munich, Germany. Klitschko was elected to the International Boxing Hall of Fame in Canastota. (AP file photo)

Vitali Klitschko and Erik Morales win election to Boxing HOF

Published Dec 5, 2017 at 4:11pm

CANASTOTA (AP) — Former heavyweight champion Vitali Klitschko, four-division world champion Erik Morales, and light middleweight champion Ronald Wright have been elected to the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

German promoter Klaus-Peter Kohl and broadcasters Steve Albert and Jim Gray also were elected as non-participants and observers. Elected posthumously were Sid Terris in the old-timer category, and ring announcer Johnny Addie and promoter Lorraine Chargin in the non-participant category.

Voting results were announced today.

Voting was conducted by members of the Boxing Writers Association and a panel of international boxing historians.

The induction ceremony is June 10, 2018, in Canastota.