Two-division champs among 2019 Boxing Hall of Fame inductees

Published Dec 5, 2018 at 1:43pm

CANASTOTA — Two-division champions Donald Curry, Julian Jackson and James "Buddy" McGirt have been selected for induction into the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

Also to be enshrined are welterweight champion Tony DeMarco in the old-timer category, promoter Don Elbaum, referee/judge Guy Jutras, publicist Lee Samuels and broadcaster Teddy Atlas in the nonparticipants and observers category.

Journalist Mario Rivera Martino was selected posthumously in the observer category.

The inductees were announced today.

Inductees were voted in by members of the Boxing Writers Association and a panel of international boxing historians. The induction ceremony is June 9.

“We’re extremely excited about the Class of 2019 and are very much looking forward to honoring the newest class of inductees,” said Hall of Fame executive director Edward Brophy.

The 2019 Hall of Fame Induction Weekend will be held June 6-9. and will include a variety of events, leading up to the Parade of Champions on downtown Canastota to be followed by the induction ceremony on the museum grounds on June 9.

Biographies on the inductees and further information on the events planned can be found on the Hall of Fame's web at: Additional information is also available by calling the Hall of Fame at 315-697-7095.