LOOKING TO DEFEND — Defending Rome City Men’s Amateur Golf Champion Jeff Lagase follows through with his swing during the first round of the 53rd Rome City Men’s Amateur Golf Championship last August at Rome Country Club. Lagase will be looking to become a two-time winner this year as he tees off on Saturday at 11:30 a.m. at McConnellsville Golf Club in the championship flight. (Sentinel file photo)

54th edition of city golf tournament to tee off

Published Aug 11, 2017 at 4:10pm

Eighty-seven of the finest amateur golfers will tee it up between Rome Country Club and McConnellsville Golf Club on Saturday and Sunday in the 54th annual Rome City Men’s Amateur Golf Championship.

The tournament will begin on Saturday at both Rome Country Club and McConnellsville Golf Club at 9 a.m. The championship round will be played at RCC on Sunday along with the dinner to follow.

“The field this year is a little smaller than it has been in years past,” City golf tournament co-chairman Roy Barnes said earlier this week. “But the tournament and the dinner to follow on Sunday have been a long-time tradition.”

Defending champion Jeff Lagase will be teeing off in the championship flight on Saturday at 11:30 a.m. at McConnellsville with Aaron Fiorini and Ryan Borruso. Also playing in the championship flight is Faruk Heto, Josh Solon, Mike Seifert, Agost Raulli, Tim Rees, Matt Ferdinand, Bob Anna and Bruce Miller.

“In this year’s championship flight, there are four previous city champions playing,” Barnes said. Raulli, 1982; Rees, 1986; Seifert, 1992; and Lagase, 2016; are all previous winners that will be playing in the championship flight.

“Ryan Borruso comes all the way back home to Rome from Florida to play this tournament,” Barnes said.

“He’s going to be a contender this year for the city championship. If I had to pick a few guys to compete for the city championship, I can tell you that Matt Ferdinand will be in the mix and Lagase and Fiorini will be very competitive. I’m going to pick either Lagase or Fiorini will be the 2017 city champion.”

The Senior A flight will be the first flight to tee off from McConnellsville at 9 a.m with Ken Ryan, Mike Graziano, Joe Kasprzyk, Mike Scheemaker, Steve Lowe, Mark Lloyd and David Whitman all beginning their rounds.

“Scheemaker, Lowe and Lloyd can all be playing in the championship flight,” Barnes said. “I think that this flight will be one of the more competitive flights out there this weekend.”

Following the Senior A flight will be the B flight at McConnellsville starting at 9:30. In the B Flight will be Steve Berthold, Rich Artigiani, Kyle Baker, Terry Bodette, Vin Martinelli Jr., Kevin Sharpe, Dan McCarthy, Mike Dorsino, Tom Meiss, Ralph Oswell, Ron McNamara and Gerald Gotti.

The A flight will begin at 10:10 a.m. from McConnellsville with Stephen Sharpe, Ed Graham, Andrew Hotton, Brian Adams, Mike Smith, Jeremy Ankin, Arendt Redner, Aaron Agosto, Ryan Crawford, Warren Constantine, Marco Pasqualetti, Dave Hall, Jeff Gifford and city golf tourney co-chairman Jim Korpela.

“Graham is playing this year in the A flight since he won in the B flight last year. So watch out for him,” Barnes said.

“I also expect Gifford and Korpela to be competitive this year.”

At 9 a.m. from the RCC, the Super Senior flight will begin with Barnes, John Domagal, Don Bach, George Homakay, Vin Martinelli Sr., Ron Rothrock, Jim Gemza. The Super Senior flight will be rounded out by John Deminico, Roy Smith and Barry Wengert.

Following the Super Senior flight at the RCC will be the Senior B flight consisting of Joe Vescio, Dave Salmon, Joe Come, Tom Rogers, Howie Mata, Joe Mortis, Jim Sutton, Dan Watson, Mark Lomery, Ron Crawford, Herb Gould and Carl Guiliano. Rounding out the Senior B flight will be Art Reid, Cliff Fike and Lenny Babcock.

The C flight will go off at 10:30 a.m. from the RCC and have Carl Rubino, John Uriarte, Tim Hurley, Ben Guiliano, Wyatt McNamara, Mike Hammon, Chris Birmingham, Frank Aston Sr. and Doug Leffert.

Bob Varano, Mike Price, Roy Higgins, Mike Srnka, Ed Duffy, John Valente, Justin Losowski, Mike Shaw and Zach Stockbridge round out the action at RCC in the D flight beginning at 11 a.m.