CHANGING OF THE GUARD — Ray Durso, outgoing president of the Chamber Alliance of the Mohawk Valley, receives a plaque from Marianne Buttenschon, the 2018 president of the alliance. Durso had led the group for three years. (Photo submitted)

Buttenschon leads MV Chamber Alliance

Published Feb 23, 2018 at 12:00pm

Marianne Buttenschon, president of the Marcy Chamber of Commerce, is president of the Chamber Alliance of the Mohawk Valley this year.

Buttenschon is is co-owner of Buttenschon Christmas Tree Farm. She is also the dean of social science and business information sciences at Mohawk Valley Community College.

The new alliance president succeeds Ray Durso, executive director of the Genesis Group, who held the post for three years. 

The other officers for 2018 are:

• Michele Smith, representing the Greater Oneida Chamber of Commerce, first vice president.

• Scott Mathias, executive director of the New Hartford Chamber of Commerce, second vice president.

• Jackie Walters, executive director of the Clinton Chamber of Commerce, secretary. 

• Bill Gray, of the Rome Area Chamber of Commerce, treasurer.

The association of chambers of commerce and organizations meets monthly for information sharing, mutual support, advocacy, education and joint planning. It was established in 1997 to represent and promote the collective interests of the chambers of commerce of the Mohawk Valley. Its geographic includes Oneida, Herkimer, Madison, Otsego, Fulton and Montgomery counties.

About 2,500 businesses, organizations, individuals and professional firms are represented by the alliance members.