Pair of MVCC students named SUNY scholar athlete award winners

Published May 14, 2017 at 9:00am

UTICA — Two Mohawk Valley Community College students were named recipients of the SUNY Chancellor’s Scholar Athlete Award, which recognizes outstanding academic excellence and athletic achievement.

Austin Cady, of the men’s cross country team, and Michael Warchol, of the men’s track and field team, were two of 77 recipients of the award.

Both recipients have excelled both in their sport and their studies.

Cady, a cybersecurity major from New Hartford, was a member of the fall’s cross country team, which finished fourth nationally. He also was selected to the All-Conference and All-Region teams. This spring, Cady has qualified nationally for the 10,000 meter. He also has been named to the president’s list. This was his first year at MVCC.

Warchol, a liberal arts, mathematics and science: sports medicine major from New Hartford, was a member of cross country and track teams last year. He was a member of the cross country team that was runner-up in 2015, and he was the national champion in the 800-meter in 2016. This year, Warchol was on the Hawks cross country team, which finished fourth nationally. This track season, he has qualified for nationals in the 800-meter and 1,500-meter. Warchol also has been named to the President’s List and is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges.

“It takes a tremendous amount of dedication and hard work to achieve such a high level of academic and athletic success,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher.

“Congratulations to all of the students receiving this year’s SUNY Scholar Athlete Award, as well as the faculty, coaches, and staff across SUNY who support and inspire them to be the best.”

MVCC offers one of the most extensive, diverse, and successful two-year college intercollegiate athletic programs in the country, with 21 sports — 10 for men and 11 for women. The Hawks are national champions with 24 national team championships and 165 individual national champions.

Learn more at