AWARD WINNERS — The Bellamy Community Awards Committee announced Friday it will bestow the 2017 Bellamy Community Awards to Art Pierce, left, and Paul Worlock, who is receiving the award posthumously. His wife, Inez Worlock, middle, will accept the award. With them for the announcement is Victor Fariello, chairman of the Bellamy Awards Committee. The fifth annual awards breakfast will be Aug. 28. (Sentinel photo by John Clifford)

Fifth annual Bellamy Community Awards recognize Pierce, Worlock

Published Jul 15, 2017 at 4:10pm

The fifth annual Francis J. Bellamy Community Awards were announced Friday. Art Pierce, executive director of the Capitol Theatre, was honored, and a posthumous award will go to Paul Worlock, who was a prominent attorney and member of the state Assembly. The organization also announced it is planning to bestow a special Bellamy award to be announced at a later date.

The organization will bestow two Bellamy Community Awards at its fifth annual Francis J. Bellamy Community Awards Breakfast to be held at 8 a.m on Aug. 28, at The Beeches.

The Bellamy organization awards outstanding Romans who exemplify the ideals of Francis Bellamy.

The inaugural winners were Charles Sprock and Ava Dorfman in 2013. The Rev. Philip Hearn and Dennis Surace were the 2014 recipients. 

In 2015, awards were given to Charles “Chip” Roe (posthumously) and then-Common Council President John Mazzaferro. Also in 2015, a Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to former Rome Mayor Carl Eilenberg. Last year, Bellamy Community Awards were given to the Rev. Paul Angelicchio, Fred Normand and Monsignor Francis Culkin (posthumously).

This year’s breakfast falls on the 86th anniversary of Bellamy’s death. State Sen. Joseph Griffo will be the speaker for the event.

Net proceeds from the Francis J. Bellamy Community Awards Breakfast are donated to educational activities and community organizations. Past donation recipients include the Luis Marina Jr. Scholarship Fund, First Baptist Church of Rome and Bellamy Elementary and the Ryan St. Andrew Book Fund at Ridge Mills School.

Tickets for the breakfast are $25 per person and are available at the Rome Area Chamber of Commerce office, 139 W. Dominick St.; Jervis Library, 613 N. Washington St.; and Teddy’s, 851 Black River Blvd; or by mail at Bellamy Awards, P.O. Box 194, Washington Mills, NY 13479. Information on sponsorship, advertising and tickets can be obtained by emailing

NBT Bank is the major sponsor of the Bellamy Awards Breakfast and has been for each of the five years.

“We are extremely proud and very appreciative to have NBT as the major sponsor again this year,” said Victor Fariello, chairman of the Bellamy Awards Committee. “NBT has been a great partner for us from the first event in 2013 and their support has been unwavering.”

The Francis J. Bellamy Community Awards Committee was founded in 2013. Members are Fariello, Co-Chair David Gordon, the Rev. Cedric Broughton, James Hamer, Malinda Abraham, Shaun Kaleta, Jason Gulla and Lenny Giardino.