Summerstage opens tonight with Hairspray! in Capitol

The Capitol Theatre, 220 W. Dominick St., presents the musical comedy "Hairspray!" as part of the 2012 SummerStage season Thursday, Friday, and Saturday at 7:30 each evening.

Reserved seat tickets are $17 for adults, $16 for seniors, $15 for Capitol Friends, and $13 for students and children. Tickets are available at the Capitol box office, by telephone at 337-6453, or on-line at

The story is set in 1962 Baltimore and concerns teen Tracy Turnblad and her obsession with the TV dance program, "The Corny Collins Show." Through a remarkable set of circumstances Tracy lands a spot as one of the program’s lead dancers, then causes sparks to fly when she decides the show needs to be open to black kids as well.

The original production was on Broadway from 2002 until 2009, and dominated the 2003 Tony Awards, winning in numerous categories including Best Score and Best Musical. Songs in the production include "Good Morning, Baltimore," "The Nicest Kids in Town," "Welcome to the ‘60s," and "You Can’t Stop the Beat."

The Capitol Theatre "SummerStage" production is directed by Peter Loftus, with dance direction by Randy Fields and the orchestra led by musical director G. Roberts Kolb.

The cast of approximately 80 performers includes: Aliyah Aikens, Brian Angell, Martine Angell, Alyssa Babcock, Richard Blackshear, E.R. Brundaje, Miladria Bryant, Amanda Burleigh, Connor Butters, Aaliyah Camp, Madeline Castro, Tyler Cavanagh, Nicholas Chadwell, Venessa Ciotti, Anna Clark, Jamilla Claypool, Rena Collandra, Sally Collins, Joseph Covich, Colton Covich, Sarah Elizabeth Crill.

Nick Dell’Anno, Gina Doria, Jamie Duck, Scott Duck, Sydney Duck, Colin Edwards, Dani Fadness, Caitlin Fenton, Andy Frank Fred Frantz, Carolyn Frantz, Morgan Gilley, Vanessa Gleba, Catherine Gudaitis, Jordan Hoffman, Quiana Holmes, Tim Huey, Callahan Hughes.

Ladonna Kelley, Caleb King, Tayler Kochan, William Lanfear, Peter Loftus, Amethyst Lowry, Jake Meiss, Taylor Mills, Morgan Mills, Sophia Mostafa, Hunter Narolis, Lizzy Pape, Barbara Parsons, Kimberly Perez, Calla Perrilloux, Phonon Perrilloux, Catherine Puma.

Anthony Razzano, Barbara Revenaugh, Jim Revenaugh, Tiffany Rotach, Megan Ruskey, Liska Savage, Charley Sciorilli, Caryn Shatraw, Tiffany Smalls, Tyler Smith, Sarah E. Smith, Tyisha Smith, Sugundia Smith, Samantha Steagall, Heather Tittus, Laura Verminslai, Ciara Wiggins, Nicholas A. Williams, Jeni Yager, Robert Yager.

On the net: