Cash prizes of $6,000 to winners

"I was feeling some pain in my legs. It stayed with me the whole time. I tried to come back, and push it, but the pain was too much to get it and go, so I let him (Regassa) get ahead and take the win," Kirui added.

Matthew Lack from Opotiki, New Zealand won the wheelchair event with a time of 36:41, while Jonathan Gauthier from Salt Lake City, Utah came across first in the 5K event with a time of 16:11.

Viacheslav Shabunin from Russia was the male master’s winner with a 48:39 time, and Tetyana Mezentseva from the Ukraine was the female master’s winner with a 52:44 timed finish.

Ian Burrell was the top male American finisher with a 46:08 time, and Kathleen DiCamillo was the top female American finisher at 51:24.

A cash prize of $6,000 was awarded for first place in the 15K event for both men and women winners, $3,500 for second, and $2,000 for third place. Master — aged 40 and above — men’s and women’s winners received $1,500 for first place, the top American male and female got $1,000 for their accolades, and the top wheelchair winners got $2,500 for their first place finishes.

A record 14,000 persons entered into the 15K race, and a total of 11,360 finished the race.

The record for most finishers during the Boilermaker was in 2010 with 11,525 finishers.

In 2010, the Boilermaker saw four records fall. The men’s and women’s course records, a record number of participation in both the 15K and the 5K events.

The 15K saw a historic record-setting number of entrants with over 14,000 signed up to run.

It was 66 degrees and under cloudy skies at the start, and the sun began to crack through a half hour later as thousands of spectators came out in droves to cheer on the participants along the entire 9.32-mile course.

The defending men’s and women’s champions from last year did not compete in this year’s Boilermaker.

The 2011 men’s winner, Ridouane Harroufi, originally entered in this year’s event, but withdrew after being involved in an automobile accident early last week.

Last year’s women’s winner, Alice Timbilili, a Kenyan Olympian in the 10,000 meters event in 2000 and 2004, did not return for unknown reasons.

The top Rome finisher was Josh Olney, who was 61st overall with a chip time of 52:49.