Red Cross honors ‘Real Heroes’

Dennis Surace

MSgt. Jeremy Murphy

Oneida County Sheriff's Deputy Kurt Wyman 1987 - 2011

Anthony Darcangelo (Sentinel file photo)

Steve Sperbeck

Fred Carnevale

Guy Calandra and Jeremy Roberts, lacrosse coaches at RFA. (Sentinel photo by Lindsay A. Mogle)

The American Red Cross of the Mohawk Valley has announced the recipients of its 6th Annual "Real Heroes" Awards.

The recognition awards will be presented at the Kurt B. Wyman "Real Heroes" Breakfast on Friday, June 8, 7:30-9 a.m. at The Beeches, 7900 Turin Road.

The program’s top honor, the Community Award, will be presented posthumously to fallen Oneida County Sheriff’s Deputy Kurt Wyman. The organization decided last year to permanently name the awards breakfast in honor of Wyman.

Previous recipients of the Community Award include RoAnn Destito, 2011; Christopher Destito (posthumously), 2010; Roger Sabia, 2009; John Mazzaferro, 2008; and Ray Meier in 2007.

According to Victor Fariello, Red Cross Community Chapter executive, the Community Award is selected annually by the chapter’s Board of Directors. Additional nominations are made by the public and are selected by the "Real Heroes" Committee.

Other honorees for 2012 include:

Community Service Award — Anthony Darcangelo (posthumously), nominated by Rome Mayor Joseph Fusco.

First Responder Award — Sylvan Beach Fire Department, nominated by Gerald Pedersen; Rome Patrolman Frederick J. Carnevale, nominated by Rome Police Chief Kevin Beach and Deputy Chief Kevin Simons.

Emergency Response Award — Jeremy Roberts and Guy Calandra, nominated by Michael Stamboly and Erika Furbeck; Stephen Sperbeck nominated by Steven Kowalsky.

Blood Services Award — St. John’s Blood Drive Volunteers (Virginia Brognano, Team Leader), nominated by Linda Belton.

Clara Barton Award — Dennis Surace, nominated by Ann Pohl.

Military Award — MSgt Jeremy Murphy, nominated by 1st Lt. Daniel Krievs and MSgt. Mathew VanDeusen.

"We are very pleased with the quality of nominees and the great stories their nominators told us," Fariello said. "We are excited to be honoring these outstanding members of the community."

Assemblyman Anthony Brindisi will be The keynote speaker at the event. Mark Larson of YNN is the Master of Ceremonies.

Tickets for the breakfast are $30 per person and can be reserved by calling 733-4666, extension 222 or by email at The fax number is 735-7149. Checks can be mailed to American Red Cross, 1415 Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13501.