Marjorie Thorpe Awards announced for term apapers

AREA TERM PAPER WINNERS — Winners of the 22nd annual Marjorie Thorpe Memorial Award term paper contest were selected by Mohawk Valley Community College. A total of 49 papers were submitted by 44 students, and judged by librarians from MVCC’s Utica and Rome libraries. From left, with term paper topics listed, are: Esther Caldwell of Deansboro, First Place, "Life on the War Front in Europe," $100 award; Starlette Teater of Oneida, Honorable Mention, "Children with Behavior Problems;" Hannah Johnson of Rome, Honorable Mention, "Mike Ramsdell — Speaker ‘Anatomy of Hate;’" Caroline Walker of Chadwicks, Third Place, "Albrecht Durer," $50 award; Carin Kent of Boonville, Fourth Place, "The Making of Saint Francis," $25 award. (Photo submitted)