DAR honors Flag Essay winners

AT AWARDS CEREMONY — American Flag Essay Awards winners were honored by the Fort Stanwix Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution Thursday. From left, John P. George, third place winner; Savannah O’Rourke, second place winner; Rowan Call, first place winner and Nancy Pawlikowski, chairperson (Photo submitted)

American Flag Essay Awards were presented to area students by the Fort Stanwix Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution Thursday at Bethany Gardens.

Winner read their essays.

The theme is "What Does The American Flag Mean to Me." The contest was open to students in grades five and six. Chairman Nancy Pawlikowski presented winners with monetary awards, flags and certificates.

Winners were:

First ­ Rowan Call, sixth grade (Rome Catholic Schools)

Second ­ Savannah O’Rourke, fifth grade, (RCS)

Third ­ John P. George, fifth grade, (RCS)

Honorable Mention ­ Maddelyn Hoehn, fifth grade, (N.A. Walbran Elementary ­ Oriskany)

The awards were presented after a over which Regent Cheryl Jacobs presided. Regent Jacobs and Chaplain Balcavage led with the ritual. The Pledge of Allegiance to the US Flag was led by Joyce Butters, the American Creed by Nancy Pawlikowski and the Preamble by Deanne Martin. President General’s message was read by Heidi Ambrosius, National Defense report was given by Penny Stone and Indian Minutes by Marietta Wright. Secretary Peggy Lisewski and Treasurer Alice Elphick gave their reports.

New member Judy Parker was introduced and welcomed.

Deanne Martin was presented a 20 year membership certificate.

Committee reports were given. The chapter has accounts at D & B and Stan’s Cans for people to drop off their cans and bottles and let them know they are for Fort Stanwix DAR.

Regent Jacobs thanked hostesses Peggy Lisewski, Penny Stone and Heidi Ambrosius. The closing prayer was given by Chaplain Balcavage.

Anyone interested in becoming a member of Fort Stanwix Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution may contact Regent Jacobs or any member.