County Republicans choose presidential delegates Tuesday

Oneida County Republicans will finally have their say in the 2012 GOP presidential nomination battle April 24 although it is likely that former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney will be the party’s standard-bearer in the November balloting.

The GOP primary will determine the allotment of the state’s 95 delegates to the nominating convention in Tampa at the end of August. Only registered Republicans are eligible to vote. There are 50,445 — 25,108 women and 25,337 men — registered Republicans in the county, according to the Board of Elections.

Voting will take place from noon to 9 p.m. at sites around the county.

Candidates on the ballot will be Romney, former House Speaker Newt Gingrich, former Pennsylvania Sen. Rick Santorum and Rep. Ron Paul. Romney currently holds a substantial lead in delegates and states won. Santorum dropped out of the race last week although his name remains on the New York ballot.

Monday is the last day to apply in person at the Board of Elections for an absentee ballot.

There is no Democratic primary for president this year, with President Barack Obama being unopposed within his party.

There are 87 polling sites for the 192 election districts. Some districts share voting locations. Approximately 350 inspectors and coordinators, as well as a dozen circuit riders will travel among voting locations.

Polling site changes

A number of polling site changes for next week’s balloting have been announced by elections office.

Rome’s Fourth Ward, districts One through Five, will vote at the fire station at 1004 Laurel St., and not Kennedy Arena which is unavailable for the primary because of the Rome Home Show taking over the venue. Fourth Ward voters will return to Kennedy Arena for the federal primary June 26, state and local primaries Sept. 11, and general election Nov. 6, according to Republican Election Commissioner Pamela N. Mandryck.

Town of Lee, districts Four and Five, will vote at the town hall, Stokes-Lee Center Road, instead of Stokes Elementary School.

In Westmoreland, the First District now votes at the town hall on Station Road — not at Lairdsville Methodist Church. Third District moves to the Westmoreland Fire Department, Station Road, — instead of the Methodist Church on Lowell Road. Fourth District also now votes at the fire station — not the Hecla Church Hall.

Annsville Republicans in the First District will cast their ballots at the Taberg Fireman’s Hall, Route 69. They formerly voted at the town hall.

In Kirkland, Fifth District Republicans now vote at the town municipal building, Route 12B — not the United Methodist Church. The Sixth District votes in the Clinton High School gym lobby — instead of Lumbard Hall — while the Ninth District casts ballots in the high school theater lobby — not Clinton Manor Apartments.

Marcy Republicans in the Fourth District will vote at Maynard Fire Station No. 1, 9500 Maynard Drive.

In Verona, the Sixth District will vote at the Sylvan Beach Municipal Hall, 808 Marina Drive — not St. Mary’s Church Annex.

Western Republicans in the Second and Third districts will cast ballots at the North Western Methodist Church, 9925 Route 46 — instead of the town hall.

For more information, call 798-5765 or 798-5763.