Writers picked for state Hall of Fame

Authors Toni Morrison, Joyce Carol Oates, E.L. Doctorow, and Pete Hamill are among the 14 writers in the 2012 Class of Inductees into the NYS Writers Hall of Fame. The four will be in attendance at the induction on June 5, at the Princeton Club of New York. Ten deceased writers will also be inducted.

The 2012 inductees is: John Cheever; Hart Crane; Edna Ferber; Washington Irving; Henry James; Mary McCarthy; Marianne Moore; Barbara Tuchman; Kurt Vonnegut; Richard Wright; E. L. Doctorow; Peter Hamill; Toni Morrison; and Joyce Carol Oates.

For information on the authors, visit empirestatebook.org.

The Empire State Center for the Book oversees the Hall.Plans are under way to house the NYS Writers Hall of Fame at the New York State Library in Albany.

For additional information on the Empire State Center for the Book and the Writers Hall of Fame, contact Rocco Staino at the New York Library Association 1-800-252-NYLA or rstaino@yahoo.com.