Strough inducts new Junior Honor Society members

Published Oct 20, 2018 at 4:10pm

A total of 71 eighth-grade students were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) at Strough Middle School on Thursday night, the Rome school district said.

The new inductees were introduced by Strough’s NJHS advisers, who are Brittany Lynch and Jeff White.

During the ceremony, the students were addressed by Strough Principal Tracy O’Rourke and the two advisers, the district noted.

Five students participated in a candle-lighting ceremony and spoke about what each candle symbolizes. They included Kaitlyn Jones, scholarship; Liam Butler, service; Sydney LaSalle, character; Santino DeCarolis, leadership and Katelyn Boyer, citizenship.

Qualifications for NJHS include a grade-point average from seventh grade of 89.5 or higher, plus excelling in scholarship, character, service, leadership and citizenship.

Students must write an essay and provide teacher recommendations, adult recommendations and a list of activities in which they participate, said the school district.

The inductees:

Lucas Allen; Madison Askew; Benjamin Bartell; Matthew Bates; Abigail Bates; Katelyn Boyer; Brandon Bright; Morgan Bruno; Cheyenne Burns; Liam Butler; Isabella Cain; Shannen Calandra; Chase Calandra; Santino Campanaro; Gwendolyn Caro; Miranda Catanzaro; Jenavieve Cianfrocco; Giovanna Cianfrocco; Gavin Civitelli; 

Abigail Cook; Madison Corr; Jacob Cosentino; Danielle D’Aiuto; Kenneth Davis; Santino DeCarolis; Rebecca DeFraine; Simeon DeMatteis; Danika Dooray; Cooper Engelbert; Mia Evans; Alyce Frost; Brynn Furbeck; Nico Gallupi; Collin Gannon; Caden Giardino; Caleb Giardino; Amalia Gulla;  

Micah Humphreys; Kaitlyn Jones; Sonepith Keoviengsamay II; Drew Kopek; Hunter Krzemien; Sydney LaSalle; Robin Litts; Nicolina Lokker; Abigail Marchione; Leah Marsden; Arianna McClendon; Matthew McCormick; Miranda McCormick; Mia Mirabelli; Collin Mummert; Alyssa Nardslico; Matthew Nickles;  

Haylie Pedersen; Casey Podkowka; Jacob Premo; Jack Pylman; Rebecca Redmond; Brianna Rivecca; Enrique Rivera; Eva Rutkowski; Zakaria Shaik; James Stolo; Dennis VanHoesel; Brent Viviani; Jacob Warwick; Karabrie Wiggins; Tyler Wilson; Jack Wood; Emma Wright.