Engelbrecht earns school boards association award

Published Aug 12, 2017 at 4:00pm

Richard Engelbrecht of the Madison-Oneida BOCES Board of Education has been named the 2017 Everett. R. Dyer Award winner by the New York State School Boards Association (NYSSBA).

The Dyer Award is given annually for distinguished school board service to a current or former board member, recognizing outstanding contributions to public education and children in his or her own school district, said the NYSSBA.

The award honors Engelbrecht’s 45 years of service on the Madison-Oneida BOCES Board, where he currently serves as president.

A Madison native who joined the board in 1972, Engelbrecht “has helped pave the way for enhanced programming and new facilities that have helped BOCES and local schools better serve the educational needs of a diverse population of learners,” the NYSSBA said.

Component school districts that participate in Madison-Oneida BOCES programs include Rome, Camden, Vernon-Verona-Sherrill, Oneida, Canastota, Hamilton, Madison, Morrisville-Eaton, and Stockbridge Valley.