BOILERMAKER SCHOLARSHIPS — Ted Petrillo Scholarship winners were honored during a breakfast held at Boilermaker Road Race headquarters in Utica on May 16. The scholarships are for $1,500 each, and honorees also receive a free race registration and have the privilege of being seeded near the elite running corral. The 2018 recipients are Hali Ielfield of South Lewis High School and Andrew Ford of Clinton High School for Outstanding Achievement in Distance Running, and Cheyenne Shoemaker of Holland Patent High School and Ryan Brooks of New Hartford High School for Outstanding Commitment to Distance Running. The scholarships are newly named after Petrillo, a long-time Boilermaker volunteer who died last year. Pictured from left: Richard Hunt, scholarship coordinator; Kim Povec, past recipient; Jim Stasaitis, race director; 2018 scholarship winners Ford, Brooks, Ielfield and Shoemaker, and Phyllis Petrillo, wife of Ted Petrillo. (Photo submitted)

Boilermaker scholarships

Published May 23, 2018 at 4:00pm