B Sharp announces scholarship winners

Published Apr 11, 2018 at 4:00pm

The B Sharp Musical Club held its annual Musical Scholarship Auditions in the Munson-Williams-Proctor Arts Institute auditorium in Utica on Saturday, March 24.

B Sharp has sponsored this competition for nearly 75 years.

Awards for the competition are made in three categories: voice, piano, instrumental. This year’s judges were Janet Brown from Setnor School of Music at Syracuse University, voice; Patricia DeAngelis who is a private instructor in Piano Performance, piano; Travis Newton, an assistant professor and conductor at LeMoyne College, instrumental.

The winners of the 2018 B Sharp Scholarship awards are: 


1st Place: Libby Militello, soprano, Clinton High School

2nd Place: Sylvie Novak, soprano, Clinton High School

3rd Place: Zachary Polus, bass-baritone, Herkimer High School

Honorable Mention: Katherine Nelson, soprano, Sauquoit Valley High School

Honorable Mention: Ryanne Solinsky, soprano, Waterville High School


1st Place: Andrea Brugnara, New Hartford High School

2nd Place: Caroline Gardner, Central Valley Academy

3rd Place: Amelia Treat, Home Schooled

Honorable Mention: Alanna Moonan, Home Schooled


1st Place: Hannah Kang, violin, Christian Brothers Academy

3rd Place: Nicholas Adair, cello, New Hartford High School

B Sharp has awarded nearly $50,000 in prize funds in the past 10 years. The club received the following sponsors of this year’s awards:

Barbara Carville Memorial

Broadway Theatre League - Margaret N. Terry Memorial

Jane Ann Vogel Memorial

Jean Axelson Memorial

The John Winter Family Fund Community Foundation of Herkimer and Oneida Counties, Inc.

Margaret Johnson Memorial

Mary Alice Goetz Memorial

Mary Lourdes Tripp Memorial

Nicholas S. Priore Memorial

Sally Blatt Memorial

Utica Music League

Vivien Harvey Slater Memorial

All first, second and third place winners presented a concert on April 8 at the Munson-Williams-Proctor Arts Institute Sinnott Family — Bank of Utica auditorium.